Posted in Music

OPM’s Not Dead

I’m turning 20 in less than two months. Looking back on the highlights of my life, a huge part of my 20 years on earth is music.

In my early years, I was exposed to the music of foreign boy bands and girl groups, courtesy of my cousins from Australia. When they went back to Sydney, I had no means to listen to foreign songs. Then, I was exposed to Original Pinoy Music, better known as OPM. I grew up listening to Spongecola, Hale, Cueshe, Kamikazee, Parokya ni Edgar, MYMP, and many more local music personalities.

I seldom listened to foreign songs, until I started to attend this all-girls school for the moderately elite. Kids in my elementary school did listen to OPM, but they listened to foreign songs more often. I stopped watching a local music channel called Myx when I became very busy with school. It resulted to me to not knowing new OPM songs. Added to this is my exposure to radio stations that only played foreign songs. This continued until I was in high school.

I was still exposed to OPM in my school years, but I didn’t appreciate it that much. I still found foreign songs more appealing, but everything changed when I started watching Myx again when I stopped studying in college. I fell in love with the new OPM artists. Now, my music preference in terms of country of origin is now balanced.

Some say that OPM is dead. I guess they say that because they no longer hear nice OPM songs in the radio. I, for a while, thought the same thing. I was sick of OPM songs that not only sounded the same, but also say the same thing. Not to mention that all I heard back then were ballads. There were some interesting songs, but they didn’t beat the foreign songs I listened to. It was like the quality of local music was slowly decreasing as time passed by. Oh, I forgot to mention that some actors try to sing too. Hey, some of them have great voices, but some of their songs don’t have the appeal to please me. Anyway, there: OPM was kind of dead to me.

When I started to watch Myx again, and when I started going to the UP Fair, I found a new appreciation for OPM. I found new artists with good sense of musicality. I also followed local song writing contests that produced great and catchy songs. Then I started to believe that OPM is not dead. I started to prove to myself that nothing that keeps on growing and evolving is dead. OPM is still evolving and growing. There are many new artists waiting to be discovered, and they are as great as the famous artists now.

I fell in love with OPM once again, and I couldn’t be any happier with what happened. It’s like I was reborn again in music appreciation. Don’t get me wrong, I still like foreign music. But my love for the local music scene is alive again.

OPM was never dead. As long as there are Filipinos who want to make music, OPM will not die.

Author:

She sings. She dances (in her room). She acts. She reads. She writes. She blogs. She read blogs. She loves. She lives according to what God wants her to do.

Leave a Reply

